Updated November 12th 2013

All states and territories have announced an agreement for uniform payroll tax rules. Under the proposed new rules payroll tax will be paid to the jurisdiction where the worker resides, rather than where they are paid, as is currently the case. The changes only affect wages for workers providing their services across jurisdictions. These new rules are effective from 1 July 2009.